Canadian Screen Awards | Transplant and Laurence Leboeuf crowned


With eight awards, the series Transplant and its actors, including Laurence Lebœuf, are the week’s big winners at the Canadian Screen Awards, while Québec cinema, whose works have often dominated this event in the past, is having a modest year.

Posted at 20:59
Updated at 22:18

andre duchesne

andre duchesne

Presented on Sunday night at the end of a week dotted with ten galas, the last (virtual) evening of this 10me The edition of the Canadian Screen Awards was also marked by the supreme achievement of the feature film Scarborough by Shasha Nakhai and Rich Williamson for best film of the year.

Touring in Montreal and produced at Sphère Média, Transplant won for the second year in a row the award for best drama series. Actor Hamza Haq (D.r Bash Hamed) meanwhile won the award for best comedian for the second year.

Also with this series, Laurence Lebœuf won the award for best actress for her portrayal of the Dre Magalie Leblanc, while Montreal actress Ayisha Issa won the trophy for Best Supporting Actress (Dre June Curtis). Note that Laurence Lebœuf was also the host of the Cinematic Arts gala presented on Friday night.

“It’s fucked. I’m still in one highexclaimed the actress, accompanied by Press at the end of the gala. What attracted me to this series is its unique point of view, that of following the Dr Bashir Hamed with all the past he faces. In addition, the characters are very rich. The production leaves us a lot of freedom to bring our own color. I can’t believe how much freedom we have to create. »

Camped out in Toronto Transplant follows the lives of various doctors and medical staff at the York Memorial Trauma Center. A third season of this very popular series, which can be seen in French (transplanted) in Noovo, is on the right track. “This series keeps me busy eight months of the year,” says Laurence Lebœuf. We started shooting the third season in March and finished in October. it’s still a lot [rires]. »

Earlier this week, Transplant it received four other awards: Best Ensemble in a Work of Fiction, Best Screenplay (Joseph Kay), Best Cinematography (Pierre Gill), and Best Editing (Annie Ilkow).


The team of Transplant

According to the Sphère Média website, the series has five directors, including Daniel Grou (Podz), Chloé Robichaud and Kim Nguyen.

Another Quebecer, Tim Rozon, won an acting award for Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series for his work on Wynonna Earp.

Quebec Film Awards

The Canadian Screen Awards, remember, reward the best of the country in film and television (only productions in English). Earlier this week, Quebec’s film artisans won several awards without taking away top honors.

Sara Mishara received the award for Best Cinematography, here called Best Cinematography, for the film drunk birds which he co-wrote with director Ivan Grbovic. This film, which represented Canada in the most recent Oscar race for Best International Film (Non-English Language), was a finalist in six categories.

Arnaud Brisebois, Jean Babin and Ève Turcotte walked away with the statuette for best artistic direction for their work on the time grabber by Francis Leclerc while Martin Lapointe won the trophy for the best hairstyles in the film Mary Chapdelaine by Sebastien Pilote.

Five films from Quebec competed for the best fiction short film award, leaving no room for films from other provinces. It isgirls don’t walk alone at night by Katerine Martineau who won the award.

Julian Sher, Graeme Smith and Natalie Dubois share the award for Best Documentary Writing for ghost of afghanistan. Marianne Ploska wins the award for best photography for the documentary Prayer for a lost mitten by Jean Francois Lesage. Angakusajaujuq: The Shaman’s Apprenticeby Zacharias Kunuk, a film produced in Montreal, receives the award for best animated short film.

Within the framework of the gala dedicated to Digital and Immersive Programs, Félix Lajeunesse and Paul Raphaël received the award for Best Non-Fiction Immersive Experience with Space Explorers: The ISS Experience-Episode Two: Preview. Finally, the award for Best Immersive Experience-Fiction was awarded to the project The passengersco-produced by Quebec-based Couzin Films.



A scene of the movie Scarborough

Awarded as Best Film, Scarborough it also won Best Direction, Best Leading Actor (Liam Diaz), Best Adapted Screenplay (Catherine Hernandez), Best Supporting Actress (Cherish Violet Blood), Best Ensemble, Best Sound Editing and the John Dunning Award for Best First Feature.

This film, which briefly premiered in Montreal a few weeks ago, tells the story of three children from poor backgrounds who become friends and learn to coexist and be resilient during a school year. It is an adaptation of the novel of the same name by Catherine Hernandez.

indignant Scarboroughthe other films that were finalists for the award for Best Fiction Feature Film were drunk birds by Ivan Grbovic twelfth night by Philippe Lacôte, one of whose producers is Montrealer Yanick Létourneau, night raiders by Danis Goulet and wild Bretten Hannam.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *