forget vikings, movie reviews are rave reviews

ADVERTISEMENT

the northernerthe new vikings movie Robert Eggers, is one of the most anticipated cinematographic works of this year. And it is not the first but enthusiastic reviews that will calm our enthusiasm.

After its first two successes, even more expectations around the next film by Robert Eggers

In just two movies, The witch and The lighthouse, director Robert Eggers has earned a solid reputation throughout Hollywood. Dark and heavy atmospheres were the hallmark of his first two works, winning the hearts of fans. His next project will take place in the universe of Vikings, and it already looks absolutely epic.

you will not have escaped, Vikings have really taken pop culture by storm in recent years. The Serie vikings, broadcast from 2013 to 2020, recounts the adventures of the famous Ragnar Lothbrok after his visions of the god Odin and his Valkyries. This successful series has also given birth to a spin-off, Vikings: Valhalla, which began airing in February of this year. We can also cite the series the last kingdomfeaturing a divided England subjected to Viking invasions, or even the highly successful video games Assassin’s Creed Valhallaand the last two God of War. AND the northerner It must therefore make a hole in this Viking universe, it seems that it has been done, and with the form.

The Northman: the first unanimous reviews

If the press has not yet been able to deliver their analyzes and sentiments, critics who have had access to the film are very favorable. They are particularly related a revenge of immense ferocity, an almost animal brutality in a dark and mystical environment. We have selected for you some of the most excited tweets:

It’s a shame THE NORTHMAN has been so criminally abused because it’s precisely what blockbuster cinema should aspire to, and still has the potential to be. Formally bold yet welcoming; easy to follow but not simply a guided tour. Five big stars. Bjork! pic.twitter.com/vXpDLOrU7b

April 5, 2022

It is a shame that The Northman has been treated so poorly. [le réalisateur avait partagé ses frustrations quant à la trop grande implication d’Universal lors du montage, ndlr], because it’s exactly what you’d expect from a blockbuster, and it has all the potential to be. Formally bold yet welcoming; easy to follow but not a guided tour. Five big stars. Bjork! kingjack

#The North it’s BRUTAL. Skarsgård is brimming with revenge-driven ferocity from start to finish. I loved the option of capturing so much (action and dialogue-heavy beats) in one shot. Let the exceptional cast shine through and make sure you feel every ounce of this film’s passion and aggression. pic.twitter.com/7nC2kfAUGo

April 5, 2022

the northerner it’s BRUTAL. Skarsgard oozes vengeance-driven ferocity from start to finish. I loved the choice to capture so much action and strong dialogue in one shot. Let the featured cast shine and be sure to feel every ounce of their passion and aggressiveness. Perri Nemiroff

The north is spectacular. Surprisingly, it’s Eggers’s most accessible film, but no less immersive in the authentic feel of him. It’s a gripping revenge story that keeps its hand around your throat and is visually stunning. He forced me to whisper “Shit!” repeatedly. #The North pic.twitter.com/5VDbxIqU0s

April 5, 2022

the northerner is spectacular. Surprisingly, this is Eggers’ most accessible film, while remaining immersive and authentic. It’s a gripping revenge story that keeps its hand on your throat while being visually stunning. He made me whisper “Oh shit!” repeatedly. Eric Eisenberg

#The North is Robert Eggers’ best film to date. Stunning cinematography sets the stage for the perfect fusion of otherworldly Norse mythology with the brutal reality of Viking history. Bloodthirsty. Powerful. Spiritual. @TheNorthmanFilm It is a magnificent and epic saga for all time. pic.twitter.com/hSa1S0Mc3Z

April 5, 2022

the northerner is Robert Eggers’ best film to date. Stunning cinematography sets the stage for the perfect fusion of otherworldly Norse mythology and the brutal reality of Viking history. Bloodthirsty. Powerful. Spiritual. The Northman is the magnificent and epic saga of the century. Maggie Lovitz

THE NORTHMAN is exactly what you’d expect from a $90 million Viking revenge movie from Robert Eggers. Brutal and stunning with great attention to detail. The story is quite simple and slow from the beginning, but I was still in awe of its spectacle. Alexander Skarsgård is a real beast. pic.twitter.com/eTJlWGNeRe

April 5, 2022

the northerner is exactly what you can expect from a $90 million Viking rematch directed by Robert Eggers. Brutal and stunning with attention to detail. The story is pretty simple and pretty slow at first, but I was speechless watching this show. Alexander Skarsgard is an absolute monster. Matt Neglia

Watching Robert Eggers’ epic Viking revenge THE NORTHMAN, I often alternated between clapping and screeching. Breathtaking choreography, terrifying in ways I still can’t quite believe. Not without its hiccups, but it’s the kind of movie whose existence feels like a miracle today. & I’ll take it.

April 5, 2022

Watching Robert Eggers’ epic Viking Revenge, the northerner, often alternating between clapping and shrieking. Impressive choreography but also disturbing in a way I still can’t fully comprehend. Not without hiccups, it’s the kind of movie whose existence is compared today to a miracle, so I take it. Tomris Laffly

Robert Eggers’ #The North it’s hauntingly visceral and super fascinating. You definitely won’t be able to take your eyes off this blood-soaked revenge story. Alexander Skarsgård is a BEAST and fierce at all times. Nicole Kidman has a couple of scenes that blew me away. daring and diabolical pic.twitter.com/9DMX3Mm4sq

April 5, 2022

the northerner by Robert Eggers is viscerally captivating and utterly petrifying. You clearly won’t be able to take your eyes off this bloodthirsty fable. Alexander Skarsgard is a ferocious BEAST at all times. I got carried away by several scenes of Nicole Kidman. Bold and diabolical.

The Northman: Robert Eggers has made his Gladiator. A satisfying and emotional revenge epic that kept me guessing and engaged with his beautiful language, mythology and cinematography. Smaller than trailers look, but still powerful and soulful. The final battle is \ud83d\udd25\ud83d\udd25\ud83d\udd25. pic.twitter.com/VKQK3GSTzb

April 5, 2022

the northerner : Robert Eggers made his Gladiator. Epic, satisfying and emotional revenge that kept me hooked with its beautiful language, mythology and cinematography. Less grand than the trailers suggest, but still powerful and moving. The final battle is incredible. german lussier

A bit of a lazy shorthand maybe, but #The North is basically Robert Eggers’ answer to 300. Violent, visceral, bizarre, and at times jaw-droppingly beautiful, it’s a terrific action movie mixed with some truly unsettling moments. Skarsgard is an absolute beast. pic.twitter.com/78V1AC5xTT

April 5, 2022

Maybe a little lazy but the northerner is essentially Robert Eggers’ answer to the movie 300. Violent, visceral, weird, and at times staggeringly beautiful, it’s a heartwarming action movie with some truly riveting moments. Skarsgard is an absolute beast.. Rory Cashin

Although it is based on a rather banal revenge scenario, the northerner seems to succeed in the tour de force of immersing the viewer in a fierce and brutal atmosphere, carried by a 5-star cast. We look forward to May 11, 2022, the date of its release in French cinemas.

ADVERTISEMENT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.